R6/R1 Digital Gauge Swap

Moderators: Site Director, FZR Forum Moderators

User avatar
95FZR600
2000+ Posts
2000+ Posts
Posts: 2972
Joined: Sat May 31, 2008 10:41 pm
Location: Kennesaw, Georgia

R6/R1 Digital Gauge Swap

Postby 95FZR600 » Sat Jun 07, 2008 8:34 pm

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image
2002 Yamaha R6-----2003 Yamaha R6

Image

User avatar
95FZR600
2000+ Posts
2000+ Posts
Posts: 2972
Joined: Sat May 31, 2008 10:41 pm
Location: Kennesaw, Georgia

Re: R6/R1 Digital Gauge Swap

Postby 95FZR600 » Sat Jun 07, 2008 8:47 pm

Posting some pics and such for ya'll that could start the WIKI spot for it and then tomorrow I will work on a write up. I have web site info for the speed healers and Msilves that makes the tach converter kit.
2002 Yamaha R6-----2003 Yamaha R6

Image

User avatar
Beckett
Site Newbie
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Jun 05, 2008 8:44 pm
Location: Coon Rapids, MN
Contact:

Re: R6/R1 Digital Gauge Swap

Postby Beckett » Sat Jun 07, 2008 9:21 pm

OK. I should have just kept reading the rest of the threads! I'll be looking for this!
*Beckett*

Central Roadracing Association - Chief of Information Technology

1991 FZR600 Genesis

User avatar
cad600
1000+ Posts
1000+ Posts
Posts: 1413
Joined: Fri May 09, 2008 3:41 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: R6/R1 Digital Gauge Swap

Postby cad600 » Sat Jun 07, 2008 10:06 pm

Even with all of the mods I'm doing, I don't have the cajouna's to drill into my engine case like that. Good work man.
Yes, that is a Single Sided Swingarm FZR600 that I built.

Something is lurking, waiting, wanting to be built......It calls to me from the darkness....

I can finally see the light at the end of the tunnel....Then I realize that it is the train coming to run my ass over....

User avatar
95FZR600
2000+ Posts
2000+ Posts
Posts: 2972
Joined: Sat May 31, 2008 10:41 pm
Location: Kennesaw, Georgia

Re: R6/R1 Digital Gauge Swap

Postby 95FZR600 » Sat Jun 07, 2008 10:20 pm

cad600 wrote:Even with all of the mods I'm doing, I don't have the cajouna's to drill into my engine case like that. Good work man.



Sure you can. Very simple. I will have exact dimensions in a few days on how and where to drill.
2002 Yamaha R6-----2003 Yamaha R6

Image

User avatar
1993FZR600
50+ Posts
50+ Posts
Posts: 61
Joined: Sat Jun 07, 2008 2:22 pm
Location: Ft. Lauderdale, FL USA

Re: R6/R1 Digital Gauge Swap

Postby 1993FZR600 » Sun Jun 08, 2008 9:52 am

AWSOME can't wait :!:
93 FZR 600 on the table.

User avatar
1993FZR600
50+ Posts
50+ Posts
Posts: 61
Joined: Sat Jun 07, 2008 2:22 pm
Location: Ft. Lauderdale, FL USA

Re: R6/R1 Digital Gauge Swap

Postby 1993FZR600 » Sun Jun 22, 2008 1:08 pm

95FZR600 wrote:Posting some pics and such for ya'll that could start the WIKI spot for it and then tomorrow I will work on a write up. I have web site info for the speed healers and Msilves that makes the tach converter kit.

do u have the write up & the dimensions :?:
93 FZR 600 on the table.

thatkid
2000+ Posts
2000+ Posts
Posts: 2026
Joined: Sun May 18, 2008 1:25 am
Location: Chicago, IL
Contact:

Re: R6/R1 Digital Gauge Swap

Postby thatkid » Fri Jul 11, 2008 10:21 pm

Yeah where is the write up? Sheesh! Some people. :whistle
Image
Do YOU Scopper?

"When some people cry, it's not because they’re weak. It’s because they’ve been strong for far too long."

User avatar
95FZR600
2000+ Posts
2000+ Posts
Posts: 2972
Joined: Sat May 31, 2008 10:41 pm
Location: Kennesaw, Georgia

Re: R6/R1 Digital Gauge Swap

Postby 95FZR600 » Sat Jul 12, 2008 12:02 pm

Maybe mszilves can do the write up because he is the one that makes the tach converter box. He also has plenty of pics to go along with mine and has done the R1 Gauge while mine is the R6.
2002 Yamaha R6-----2003 Yamaha R6

Image

matt87
Site Newbie
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed May 28, 2008 12:30 pm

Re: R6/R1 Digital Gauge Swap

Postby matt87 » Fri Oct 10, 2008 9:38 am

Someone needs to post a youtube video of there digi guages at work. Im debating this as a winter project but Im undecided.

User avatar
nynoah
50+ Posts
50+ Posts
Posts: 51
Joined: Tue Jul 01, 2008 12:55 am
Location: Denver
Contact:

Re: R6/R1 Digital Gauge Swap

Postby nynoah » Fri Oct 10, 2008 9:49 am

dude, did you drill your engine cases with all the tranny parts in place? Because if you did, kiss your engine goodbye. There is going to be metal shavings all over inside there.

User avatar
Target30
Level 7.5
Level 7.5
Posts: 754
Joined: Wed Aug 06, 2008 3:45 pm
Location: Nashua, NH

Re: R6/R1 Digital Gauge Swap

Postby Target30 » Fri Oct 10, 2008 9:52 am

yah, i was wondering how that would be pulled off without damaging the engine.
I did that.

Image

"(12:38:42) sweekster: i work when i want because i'm sweeks"

User avatar
ozzyfzr
Site Newbie
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon May 19, 2008 3:13 am
Location: Australia

Re: R6/R1 Digital Gauge Swap

Postby ozzyfzr » Sat Oct 11, 2008 6:16 am

I would like to ask how many pulses/teeth the device uses for speedo input! if you are using the speedo corrector thingy why not count the teeth on the front sprocket or rear and then calibrate for those settings. It would not require drilling any casings etc, alternatively mount on the front forks and count the front disc bolts, I'm sure there'd be a much safer alternative.
I would be worried about the thing falling out and spraying hot engine oil on the back tyre!

Excellent idea though using the R1/R6 Cluster
Regards
Ozzyfzr
It looks fast! is it

User avatar
95FZR600
2000+ Posts
2000+ Posts
Posts: 2972
Joined: Sat May 31, 2008 10:41 pm
Location: Kennesaw, Georgia

Re: R6/R1 Digital Gauge Swap

Postby 95FZR600 » Sat Oct 11, 2008 7:26 am

nynoah wrote:dude, did you drill your engine cases with all the tranny parts in place? Because if you did, kiss your engine goodbye. There is going to be metal shavings all over inside there.


I have put 3,000 miles on bike since drilling the hole. Same engine! :headbang:
2002 Yamaha R6-----2003 Yamaha R6

Image

User avatar
mszilves
Level 1.5
Level 1.5
Posts: 151
Joined: Fri May 09, 2008 1:52 pm

Re: R6/R1 Digital Gauge Swap

Postby mszilves » Sat Oct 11, 2008 11:36 am

nynoah wrote:dude, did you drill your engine cases with all the tranny parts in place? Because if you did, kiss your engine goodbye. There is going to be metal shavings all over inside there.


I have 13000km on it since drilling, and no problems at all. The engine runs as smooth as the day I got it, and haven't noticed anything out of the ordinary. If you do it carefully, shouldn't be an issue. Also, the casing is a much softer aluminum while the tranny is hardened steel. There is not a drop of oil at the sensor, and because of where it sits, it is pretty much out of the elements. There is no way that is coming out of the case.

There is essentially no difference between how this is mounted and how it's found on some stock bikes. Trust me guys, I'm an engineer, and did all the research before going this route.
ImageImage

'03 Liquid Silver R6
'91 FZR 600
'97 Forks w/ .85kg/mm Race Tech springs, Gold-Valve Emulators (2 turns), 20w fork oil / Fox Twin Clicker
R6 front calipers and master cylinder, R6 tail
YZF swingarm conversion
'01 R1 Digital Cluster conversion
K&N Drop-In, Factory Pro emulsion tubes, stock 5CFZ4 needle on clip 2, 22mm floats, mixture screws temp tuned
Bridgestone BT-016s 110/170


Image


Return to “Electrical: MODs/How-To/Issues”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests